Christmas recycling and waste collections

Image of recycling crews in Christmas hats

15 December 2020

Image of recycling crews in Christmas hatsChanges to the normal kerbside collections for recycling and waste will be kept to a minimum this year, with only collections scheduled for Christmas Day (Friday 25 Dec) and New Year's Day (Friday 1 Jan) rearranged for another day. 

These Friday collections will be moved to Sunday 27 December and Saturday 2 January. All other collections days will remain the same.


Normal collection day  -  Revised collection day

Monday 21 December  -  No change

Tuesday 22 December  -  No change

Wednesday 23 December  -  No change

Thursday 24 December  -  No change

Friday 25 December  -  Sunday 27 December

Monday 28 December  -  No change

Tuesday 29 December  -  No change

Wednesday 30 December  -  No change

Thursday 31 December  -  No change

Friday 1 January  -  Saturday 2 January


With collections scheduled throughout the festive period, we are encouraging households to make use of the service and reduce, reuse and recycle as much of their household waste as possible.

Cllr Heulwen Hulme, Cabinet Member for Waste and Recycling, said: "Christmas is a busy time of year for us all, but it is really important to remember to recycle as much as possible over the festive period.

"Each one of us generates a huge amount more waste than normal over Christmas and New Year, but luckily most of it can be recycled - tin foil, food, glass jars and bottles, real Christmas trees, plain Christmas cards and wrapping paper, batteries, plastic pots and bottles - we can all do our bit to make sure as much as possible is recycled.

"Its great news that we have arranged for the minimum amount of disruption to our normal collections this year, with only the rounds falling on Christmas Day and New Year's Day being rescheduled, so please remember to put all of your recycling out to be collected."

Please check our website for details of the household waste recycling centre Christmas opening times and keep an eye on our social media pages for any service changes needed as a result of extreme winter weather.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon

Print

Print icon