Methodists Records

John Wesley began his ministry in 1739, and Methodist Societies were formed almost from the first. There have been several secessions from the main organisation, most notably Primitive Methodists in 1807, and Independent Methodists in 1805.

Three other branches which had split off formed the United Methodist Church in 1907. In 1932 all groups were reunited into the Methodist Church of Great Britain, except for the Independent division.


Did you know? We can undertake research on your behalf



Builth Wesleyan Methodist Circuit (Ref: B/NC/4/A) [15KB]

Carmel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Ystradgynlais Lower (Ref: B/NC/4/B) [12KB]

Brecon Welsh Methodist Circuit (Ref: B/NC/4/C) [11KB]

Coke Memorial Chapel, Brecon (Ref: B/NC/4/D) [17KB]

Trinity Calvinistic Methodist Church, Defynnog (Ref: B/NC/4/E) [6KB]

Tynewydd Calvinistic Methodist Church, Trecastle (Ref: B/NC/4/F) [6KB]

Salem Calvinistic Methodist Church, Trallong (Ref: B/NC/4/G) [6KB]

Bethel Church, Brecon (Ref: B/NC/4/H) [5KB]

Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Dosbarth Uchaf Dyffryn Tawe (Ref: B/NC/4/I) [6KB]



General Methodist records - Llanfyllin, Meifod, Machynlleth, Llanrhaiadr (Ref: M/NC/4/A) [13KB]

Bro Hafren Circuit - also Manses at Llanidloes, Newtown, Caersws, Middletown Chapel (Ref: M/NC/4/B) [22KB]

Adfa Calvinistic Methodist Chapel (Ref: M/NC/4/D) [12KB]

Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, China Street, Llanidloes (Ref: M/NC/4/E) [242KB]



Knighton Primitive Methodists, Knighton Wesleyan Methodists; Builth Wells (Ref: R/NC/4/A) [315KB]

Rhayader Cavinistic Methodist Chapel (Ref: R/NC/4/R) [12KB]

Rhayader Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Ref: R/NC/4/B) [13KB]


Additional Information

Methodist churches are grouped into circuits, with a superintendent minister; several circuits form a district. Welsh Methodism was Calvinistic, and was organized along Presbyterian lines.

See also Brecon Library transfer (B/D/LBY/4) for more records.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon