New Chair of Powys County Council appointed

Image of the new chair of PCC

18th May 2018 

Image of the new chair of PCCA county councillor from Brecon has been appointed the new Chair of Powys County Council.

Cllr David Meredith, who represents the St. David Within ward, was elected chair at the council's annual meeting yesterday (Thursday, May 17), succeeding Cllr Dai Davies, local member for the Berriew ward.

Cllr Meredith was elected as a county councillor for the St. David Within ward in 2018 and was Chair of Brecknockshire for 2012/13.

At the same meeting, Cllr Beverley Baynham, local member for Presteigne was elected Vice-Chair of the council. Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, local member for Llansanffraid, was elected Assistant Vice-Chair.

Cllr David Meredith (third from right), the new Chair of Powys County Council, receives the chain of office from outgoing chair, Cllr Dai Davies.

Also pictured, from left to right, are:

  • David Powell, the council's Deputy Chief Executive
  • Cllr Beverley Baynham, Vice-Chair
  • Cllr Rosemarie Harris, Leader of Powys County Council
  • Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, Assistant Vice-Chair.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon