1. Login / Register
  2. Cymraeg
Close Icon
  1. Login / Register
Notice: NEW - Did you know you can now view your Rent Account balance online
Read more

Public notice of petition to remove the MP for Brecon and Radnorshire Chris Davies

Recall of MPs Act 2015 (Recall Petition)

Notice of Petition

There will be a petition to decide whether Chris Davies, the MP for Brecon and Radnorshire should lose his seat as an MP and a by-election held to decide who would be the MP for that constituency.

The petition has been started because Chris Davies, MP has been convicted of an offence under section 10 of the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009 (an offence of providing false/misleading information for a parliamentary allowances claim and also of a second offence of attempting to provide such information), and ordered to pay a fine of £1,500 and has been given a community order requiring the completion of 50 hours of unpaid work within the next 12 months.

Petition signing period: 9am on Thursday, 9 May to 5pm Thursday, 20 June 2019.

Constituency: Brecon and Radnorshire

The designated petition signing places are located at:

  • County Hall, Llandrindod Wells, LD1 5LG
  • Neuadd Brycheiniog, Cambrian Way, Brecon, LD3 7HR
  • Presteigne Library, Market Hall, Presteigne, LD8 2AD
  • Ystradgynlais Library, Temperance Street, Ystradgynlais, SA9 1JJ
  • Council Offices, Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye, HR3 5BX
  • Clarence Hall House, Beaufort Street, Crickhowell, NP8 1BN

These locations will be open for signing:

  • Monday, 9am to 5pm (except spring bank holiday Monday)
  • Tuesday, 8am to 5pm
  • Wednesday, 9am to 8pm
  • Thursday, 9am to 5pm
  • Friday, 9am to 5pm

A person is eligible to sign the petition if they are a registered parliamentary elector for the constituency and aged 18 or over (or the date of their 18th birthday is before the end of the signing period).

All registered parliamentary electors will be written to individually advising them of the signing procedure and which signing place they have been allocated to. Parliamentary electors who are currently registered to vote by post will receive their signing sheet by post.

New applications to sign the petition by POST must be received by no later than 5pm on Wednesday, 5 June 2019.

New applications to sign the petition by PROXY must be received by no later than 5pm on Wednesday, 12 June 2019.

IMPORTANT - if you choose to sign the petition your name will be marked on the register used to administer the petition. This is known as the 'marked register' and helps to prevent someone from signing twice and to detect fraud. After the result of the petition is announced, any person may apply to the petition officer to inspect the marked register if they suspect fraud. If the petition officer agrees to this request then the inspection will take place under the supervision of local authority staff and the person can only make handwritten notes, which they may pass to the police for investigation.

Publication of 10% threshold

After receiving the Speaker's notice under section 5 of the Recall of MP's Act 2015 the Petition Officer herewith gives public notice of:

(a) the number of persons who are entitled to sign the petition as 53,032

(b) the number of persons who would need to sign the petition for the petition to be successful in accordance with section 14 of the Recall of MP's Act 2015(a) (determination of whether recall petition successful) as 5,303

Dr Caroline Turner, Petition Officer 

Petition Campaigners

An eligible person or organisation can become registered by notifying the Petition Officer in writing.

There are two types of campaigners; 'registered' and 'un-registered' campaigners. During the regulated period, the spending limits are:

  • £500 for non- registered campaigners
  • £10,000 for registered campaigners

Registered campaigners must also notify the Petition Officer of a 'responsible person'. This person is responsible for making sure the registered campaigner follows the rules on spending, donations and reporting.

Recall Act Factsheet

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon