NOTICE: Garden Waste update

Read more about View full notice

New Chair of Powys County Council appointed

Image of new Chairman receiving the chain of office

21 May 2019

Image of new Chairman receiving the chain of officeA county councillor from Presteigne has been appointed the new Chair of Powys County Council.

Cllr Beverley Baynham, who represents the Presteigne ward, was elected chair at the council's annual general meeting on Thursday, May 16. She succeeds Cllr David Meredith, local member for Brecon's St. David Within ward.

Cllr Baynham was elected as a county council for the Presteigne ward in 2017 and was Chair of Radnorshire for 2017/18.

Elected Vice-Chair of the council was Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, local member for Llansanffraid, and Cllr Gareth Ratcliffe, local member for Hay-on-Wye, was elected Assistant Vice-Chair.

It is the first time in the county council's history that the positions of Chair, Leader (Cllr Rosemarie Harris) and Chief Executive (Dr Caroline Turner) have been occupied by women at the same time.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon