NOTICE: Garden Waste update

Read more about View full notice

Finalists announced for county's premier business awards

Image of last year's Powys Business Award winners

30 July 2019

Image of last year's Powys Business Award winnersBusinesses from across the breadth of Powys are represented in the county's premier business awards.

The highly popular competition sees 28 businesses shortlisted for 12 different award categories in this year's Powys Business Awards.

Winners will be chosen following judges visits which will take place over the summer months, winners will be announced at an awards dinner to be held on Friday October 4th at Dering Lines in Brecon.

The finalists are as follows:

Entrepreneurship Award sponsored by Welsh Government

  • BORD3R Limited, Four Crosses
  • Gloversure Ltd, Welshpool
  • Navmoor Limited, Llangorse

Start-up Business Award sponsored by Myrick Training

  • Countryside Financial Services Ltd, Llanidloes
  • Natural Weigh Ltd, Crickhowell
  • Navmoor Limited, Llangorse

Micro Business Award (Less than 10 employees) sponsored by The Cambrian News & Brecon & Radnor Express

  • Electric Classic Cars Limited, Newtown
  • Liberty Furnishings, Newtown
  • Tailored Imports Limited, Talgarth

Growth Award sponsored by Development Bank of Wales

  • A.C. Roof Trusses Ltd, Welshpool
  • CellPath Ltd, Newtown
  • Radnor Hills, Knighton

Investing in People Award sponsored by PCI Pharma Services

  • Caereinion High School, Llanfair Caereinion
  • EvaBuild Ltd, Newtown
  • Mitchell Meredith Ltd, Llandrindod Wells

Excellence in Customer Service Award sponsored by Nidec Control Techniques

  • Mitchell Meredith Ltd, Llandrindod Wells
  • The Nags Head Inn, Garthmyl
  • Varleys Of Newtown Ltd

Small Business Award (Under 30 employees) sponsored by The County Times

  • A.C. Roof Trusses Ltd, Welshpool
  • The Milford Collection, Newtown
  • TS Henderson & Co Ltd, Hay on Wye

Social Enterprise/ Charity Award sponsored by Mid Wales Housing Association Ltd

  • Corn Exchange Crickhowell Ltd, Crickhowell
  • Severn Rivers Trust, Welshpool
  • Tir Coed, Rhayader

International Trade Award sponsored by Trax JH Ltd

  • CellPath Ltd
  • Winslow Adaptics Ltd

Outstanding Apprentice Award sponsored by Mid Wales Manufacturing Group

  • Joe Paul - Gloversure, Welshpool
  • Joleyon Harris - Morgan's Plumbing and Heating Ltd, Llanymynech
  • Daniel Gregory - Nidec, Newtown

Technology & Innovation Award sponsored by Lanyon Bowdler Solicitors

  • Electric Classic Cars Limited, Newtown
  • EMDR Solutions Online Ltd, Boughrood
  • Winslow Adaptics Ltd, Brecon

Small Business Growth Award sponsored by NPTC Group of Colleges

  • Hughes Architects
  • OTM Groundscare Ltd
  • Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway

In addition to the above awards, the Judging Panel have a discretionary award called the Judges Award which is made each year to recognise some outstanding achievement or person that has come to the judge's attention during their visits and which the strict criteria for the other awards does not recognise which this year is sponsored by the Mid Wales Chamber of Commerce.

Secondly from the category winners the overall award for Powys Business Awards, the Business of the Year, is sponsored by Powys County Council.

The awards celebrate excellence in business in the county and brings recognition in the local and regional business communities.  The winners will be revealed at the Awards evening to be held at Dering Lines in Brecon on 4th October.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon