Notice: Housing rent account balances in My Account
Read more

Christmas recycling and refuse collections

Image of PCC recycling crews

Image of PCC recycling crews16 December 2019

Recycling and refuse collections for Powys householders and the council's trade waste customers will be later than usual during Christmas and the New Year, the county council has confirmed.

Crews will be working throughout the weekends to ensure that the collections will take place only two days later during Christmas week and then only one day later during New Year week.

Collections due on Christmas Eve (Tuesday, December 24) and New Year's Eve (Tuesday, December 31) will take place as usual, otherwise, please remember to put out your bins on the following days:

Christmas week

Normal collection day

Revised collection day

Monday, December 23

No change

Tuesday, December 24 (Christmas Eve)

No change

Wednesday, December 25 (Christmas Day)

Friday, December 27

Thursday, December 26 (Boxing Day)

Saturday, December 28

Friday, December 27

Sunday, December 29

 

New Year week

Monday, December 30

No change

Tuesday, December 31 (New Year's Eve)

No change

Wednesday, January 1 (New Year's Day)

Thursday, January 2

Thursday, January 2

Friday, January 3

Friay, January 3

Saturday, January 4

 

With collections scheduled throughout the festive period, we are encouraging households to make use of the service and reduce, reuse and recycle as much of their household waste as possible.

Adrian Jervis, Head of Highways, Transport and Recycling, said: "We have heard in good faith that the busiest man at this time of year, Father Christmas, is doing his bit to recycle this Christmas, so we're hoping that households will follow suit to recycle as much as possible this festive period."

"Not only will recycling as much of your Christmas waste as possible ensure that you don't run out of space in your wheelie bins or purple sacks, it also reduces the amount of rubbish we are all sending to landfill."

For details of the household waste and recycling centre Christmas opening times and/or in the event of extreme weather, please keep check our website and social media pages.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon

Print

Print icon