Notice: NEW! View and download your Business Rates Bill online and more!
Read more

Local Access Forum

Image of open landPowys County Council has a legal duty to set up a Local Access Forum (LAF). The main function of the LAF is to give advice to the Council about the public access to land in the area for open-air recreation and the enjoyment of the area, taking into account the needs of land management and the natural beauty of the area.

The LAF is there to also advise other bodies, including Natural Resources Wales, about 'open access'. 

One important LAF responsibility is considering whether public access should be granted to land under Glastir agri-environment scheme which currently have no public access, and if so, where this access should be.

All meetings are open to the public, and the Forum liaises with the Brecon Beacons National Park LAF which falls mainly within Powys.



LAF Agenda 16.01.2020 [78KB]

LAF Agenda 19th September 2019 [175KB]

LAF Minutes - 19th September 2019 [304KB]

View more documents

The Forum draws its membership from across Powys, and from as wide an area of interests as possible. One County Councillor sits on the Forum to represent the Council. Members all sit as individuals and not as representatives of an organisation.

The setting-up and workings of LAFs are governed by Regulations and guidance. The LAF must meet at least twice a year. However, meetings generally take place three times a year and are usually held in the Llandrindod Wells area, or at another venue agreed by the Forum members. It has been decided that one meeting per year will be a site visit, again to be agreed by members.

The regulations say that the LAF must have a named secretary. The contact details for the secretary are shown under 'Contacts' on this page. The Secretary is supported at the LAF by the Countryside Services' staff most able to advise on each meeting's business. 

Forum Members

The members of the Forum from April 2020 until April 2023 are:-

  1. Annette Turner
  2. Bryan Jones
  3. Charles de Winton
  4. Chris Ledbury
  5. Chris Tomley
  6. Councillor Roger Williams
  7. Emyr Davies
  8. Jill Kibble
  9. John Rowlands
  10. Josie Pearson
  11. Katherine Shaw
  12. Michael Brennan
  13. Robert Hyde
  14. Tony Cooke




  • Email:   
  • Phone: 01597 827677
  • Mobile: 07810 156097
  • Address: Local Access Forum secretary, The Gwalia, Ithon Road, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, LD1 6AA

Feedback about a page here


Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon